Embroidered Type

(Embroidered typography by Peter Crawley, click through image to see source)

Typography is beautiful, but sometimes it can feel a little one dimensional. I feel like we are so used to seeing typography and associating it with technology, with digital fonts. I took a typography class my sophomore year at MECA where I had to design a font and it was seriously the hardest thing I have ever had to do. So when I look at the above image of this breath-taking hand embroidered example of typography I really kind of lose it. The craft, the patience, all those hours stabbing yourself with a needle, think about how much went into this piece. I feel like hand crafted design gives us all a special feeling. It feels personal, inviting and warm, and you really just want to touch it. It’s is unique too. It is obvious that this serif typeface is not handwritten. It is based off a font that we can probably find something similar too in our computers. Peter Crawley has kind of crossed the barrier between hand and digital in a graceful and quiet approach. It kind of gives the first impression that it is digital or meant to be until we stop and notice the embroidery threads creating the beautiful letterforms. This ultimately gives us a clean, elegant and readable piece with still evidence of the hand. I can go on and on all day about how inspiring I think this is, but I think you get the point.

One response to “Embroidered Type

  1. Pingback: One way to use up leftover thread… « the smallest forest·

Leave a Reply

